Ikea Gets Interactive

Screen Shot 2012-11-12 at 8.06.51 PM

I don’t know why I do it, but I collect old Ikea catalogs. Maybe its my obsessive goal to get organized, I’m not sure, but for whatever reason I can’t bring myself to throw out old catalogs. And now I’ve got something to really freak out over–Ikea is going to unveil an interactive catalog. Yes!

The catalog is being released for the holiday shopping season and I truly hope other furniture retailers(some are already) hop on board the interactive train. Ikea is calling it “Celebrate Brillantly” and you can check it out here. Keeping track of what customers like and what their clicking on is a great way to track their customer base–their faces, shopping habits etc. As Christine Whitehawk, communications manager at Ikea U.S. comments:

Ikea U.S. has had “an online version of our print catalog for several years, but it’s basically a PDF version,” she added, so having the interactive catalog adds the benefits of being “able to monitor how people respond, the areas where they don’t respond, and look at how they’re using it, how many are using it and how it gets shared.”

By the way, if you haven’t already check out Ikea Spotting and Ikea Hackers for cool design ideas.

Leave a Reply

