A Word About Beyonce’s Band

Though I jokingly dismissed Queen B. in my previous Super Bowl post, I will admit, I thought her performance was good, and honestly, I kept asking “who is that guitarist” and “who is the band,” as brief close-ups graced the screen. I wanted more, so I looked into it.

Called  “The Sugar Mommas,” Beyonce specifically chose the all women band to serve as inspiration for young girls (women) everywhere. Beyonce remarked“When I was younger I wish I had more females who played instruments to look up to. I played piano for like a second but then I stopped,” “I just wanted to do something which would inspire other young females to get involved in music so I put together an all-woman band.”

Check out the some of the women in the video above. Awesome.

p.s.-Beyonce outfit was designed by Rubin Singer. From the NYTHis clothes have a sense of drama; he’s influenced by opera and history, and not a little by the heavyweights of the ’80s, like Azzedine Alaïa and Claude Montana. “For me, clothing is social armor,” he said. His clothes are sold at Neiman Marcus and about 15 specialty stores.

Leave a Reply

